Menu
  1. How Do I?
  2. Business
  3. Government
  4. Residents
  5. Departments
    1. Animal Shelter
    2. Commissioner of the Revenue
    3. Commonwealth Attorney
    4. Communications Office
    5. Community Development
    6. Economic Development
    7. Electric
    8. Finance
    9. Human Resources
    10. Parks and Recreation
    11. Police
    12. Real Estate
    13. Registrar's Office
    14. Rescue Squad
    15. Salem Fire-EMS
    16. Salem Public Library
    17. Sheriff's Office
    18. Street & General Maintenance
    19. Technology Systems
    20. Treasurer's Office
    21. Water & Sewer Dept
  6. Tourism
  7. Downtown
  8. Report a Problem
PHONE:  (540) 375-3019|HOURS:  M-F 8am-5pm |E-MAIL:  commissioner@salemva.gov
MAIL:  P.O. Box 869, Salem, VA 24153 |LOCATION:  City Hall, 114 North Broad Street, Salem, VA 24153

Commissioner of the Revenue

PHONE:  (540) 375-3019|HOURS:  M-F 8am-5pm |E-MAIL:  commissioner@salemva.gov
MAIL:  P.O. Box 869, Salem, VA 24153 |LOCATION:  City Hall, 114 North Broad Street, Salem, VA 24153

Business License 2017

TAX RATES:

Personal Property: $3.25
Business Tangible Property: $3.25
Business Machinery & Tools: $3.20

NOTES:

Tax Payment Deadline for Personal Property and Business Tangible Property is May 31st
Business License renewal deadline is March 1st

Salem Welcomes New Businesses!

As the Commissioner of the Revenue for the City of Salem it is our mission to serve our citizens with the outstanding service necessary to ensure they are left with a lasting positive impression of our entire office. It is the small things that matter and are remembered by the citizen. Our goal is to exceed the Citizens expectations of the office and thus gain their trust and support of the jobs that we do.

The Commissioner's office is responsible for implementing the tax policy decisions of Salem City Council. We are the checks and balances between the local government,  Treasurer and the citizens.

Linda M. Carroll, MCR : lmcarroll@salemva.gov
Commissioner of the Revenue

Kristie D. Chittum, MDCR : kchittum@salemva.gov
Chief Deputy Commissioner, Bank Franchise, Public Service

Sidney C. Kuzmich, MDCR : skuzmich@salemva.gov
Business Tax Auditor, Business License, Admissions Tax, Short Term Rental Tax, Meals Tax, Lodging Tax

Karen B. Stephenson : kbstephenson@salemva.gov
Estimated Tax, Real Estate Tax Relief

Kelly L. Dusenberrykdusenberry@salemva.gov
Mobile Homes, Personal Property, Business Personal Property

Rose M. Kingrking@salemva.gov
Personal Property, Boats

The Commissioner of the Revenue's Office is responsible for a variety of tasks including: